18 mai 2015

English

History

Researcher : Gilles Routhier

blason-vatican

Project Description :

This project situates itself in a vast international and interdisciplinary network of research on Vatican II that brings together researchers (historians and theologians) from Europe and America. This team of researchers is spread across many research institutions or centers throughout the world and promotes research activities of diverse natures: colloquia; seminars; and, publications. At the University of Laval the research undertaken rests on four principal axes: the history of Vatican II and the Canadian participation in this event; the reception of Vatican II, especially in Quebec and in Canada; the reception of “the pastoral style of Vatican II”, in particular in Bishops’ teaching and discourse; and the hermeneutic of Vatican II.

 

Vatican II au Québec

In the long term, the goal of these research activities is to study the future of contemporary Catholicism in its relation with culture and society. In focusing research on Vatican II (1962 – 1965) and its preparation (1959 – 1962), we thus wish to understand the transformation of an institution with global dimensions, which is at the same time, implanted in particular cultures and societies. This multifaceted research permits the following to be observed :

  • the challenges of a global governance and of teaching destined for Christians of all nations;
  • the implanting of Christianity in a diversity of cultures and societies and the safeguarding of unity;
  • the exchange of ideas and the development of a reform movement inside a large institution;
  • the development of a new style or another way of speaking, and to inscribe this manner of discourse in a space of plurality;
  • the role of diverse actors and diverse authorities in the Catholic Church;
  • the relation to tradition and the present;
  • the welcome of innovations and the resistance to change that manifests itself in a large assembly and in the wider Church during the reception of the Council;
  • the development and the establishment of diverse hermeneutics of the Council.

Briefly, it attempts to discover the significance and the communication of Vatican Council II in Quebec, in Canada, and around the world. While this research is interested in the internal dynamics of the Catholic Church and the conciliar assembly, it is also attentive to external factors such as the evolution of social, political, economic, and cultural contexts. In Quebec this means the study of an element little explored in the history of Quebec: the contribution and impact of Vatican II on the «Quiet Revolution».

In addition, with a concern for periodization or a diachronic approach, the research establishes a dialectal relationship between the different stages of the conciliar event (viz., the preparatory phase from 1959 – 1962 and the council itself from 1962 – 1965) and the major stages in the history of twentieth century Catholicism (viz., the first half of the twentieth century; the Second Vatican Council; and the post-conciliar period). At the synchronic level, the research is attentive to the dialectical relationship between the different currents that went through the conciliar assembly (even present in the ranks of the Quebec episcopacy) and the wider Church. It also attends to the dialectical relationship between the episcopacy and the ecclesial body, in particular with the reforming movement that existed in the Church and in Quebec during the pre-conciliar years. In summation, this research that links a socio-historical approach and a theological approach aims to shed light on the significance of Vatican II, especially in the history of Quebec in general, and of the Quebec Church.

This research project in which many theses and dissertations are included falls within the scope of the Centre interuniversitaire d’études québécoises (CIEQ), of which the principal researcher is a member. The project has received regular financial support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada(SSHRC), from the Fonds québécois de recherche sur la culture (FQRSC), and the Fonds Gérard-Dion et theFonds Cardinal-Maurice-Roy to sponsor academic events and to help in publication.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vatican II | Concile oecuménique, documents et publications Université Laval

Historique

Description du projet :

Chercheur : Gilles Routhier

Blason Vatican II

Ce projet s'insère dans un vaste réseau international et interdisciplinaire de recherche sur Vatican II qui regroupe des chercheurs (historiens et théologiens) d'Europe et de l'Amérique. Cette équipe de chercheurs est répartie dans plusieurs laboratoires ou centres à travers le monde et promeut des activités de recherche de diverses natures : colloques, séminaires, publications. À l’Université Laval, la recherche poursuivie comporte quatre axes principaux : l’histoire de Vatican II et la participation canadienne à cet événement; la réception de Vatican II, en particulier au Québec et au Canada; la réception du «style pastoral de Vatican II, en particulier dans la parole épiscopale; et l’herméneutique de Vatican II.



Vatican II au Québec

À long terme, le but de ces recherches est d’étudier le devenir du catholicisme contemporain dans sa relation avec la culture et la société. En centrant la recherche sur Vatican II (1962-1965) et sa préparation (1959-1962), on veut ainsi saisir la mutation d’une institution aux dimensions mondiales et inscrites dans des cultures et des sociétés particulières. Cette recherche, aux multiples facettes, permet d’observer :

  • les défis d’une gouvernance mondiale et d’un enseignement destiné aux chrétiens de toutes les nations;
  • l’inscription du christianisme dans la diversité des cultures et des sociétés et la sauvegarde de l’unité;
  • la marche des idées et le développement d’un mouvement de réforme à l’intérieur d’une grande institution;
  • l’élaboration d’un nouveau style ou d’une autre manière de parler et d’inscrire sa parole dans un espace pluriel;
  • le rôle des divers acteurs et des diverses autorités dans l’Église catholique;
  • le rapport à la tradition et au présent;
  • l’accueil des innovations et les résistances au changement qui se manifestent dans une grande assemblée et dans le champ ecclésial au cours de la réception du concile;
  • le développement et le fondement des diverses herméneutiques du concile.

Bref, il s’agit d’essayer d'appréhender la signification et la portée du concile Vatican II, au plan mondial, au Québec et au Canada. Si cette recherche s’intéresse aux dynamiques internes de l’Église catholique et de l’assemblée conciliaire, elle est aussi attentive aux facteurs externes tels que l'évolution des contextes social, politique, économique et culturel. Au Québec, cela signifie d’étudier un élément encore peu exploré de l'histoire du Québec : la contribution et l'impact de Vatican II à la «Révolution tranquille».

De plus, dans un souci de périodisation ou d’approche diachronique, la recherche établit un rapport dialectique entre les différentes étapes de l'événement conciliaire (la phase préparatoire : 1959-1962 et le déroulement du concile : 1962-1965) et les grandes étapes de l’histoire du catholicisme (le premier XXe siècle, le concile Vatican II et la période post-conciliaire). Au plan synchronique, la recherche est attentive au rapport dialectique entre les différents courants qui traversent l’assemblée conciliaire (représentés au sein même de l'épiscopat québécois) et le champ ecclésial; le rapport dialectique entre l'épiscopat et le corps ecclésial, en particulier avec le courant réformiste qui, bien que suspect, existait dans l'Église et au Québec au cours des années préconciliaires. En somme, cette recherche, qui allie approche socio-historique et approche théologique, vise à mettre en lumière la signification de Vatican II, en particulier dans l'histoire du Québec en général et de l'Église du Québec.

Ce projet de recherche, dans lequel s’inscrivent plusieurs mémoires et thèses, est réalisé dans le cadre du Centre interuniversitaire d'études québécoises (CIEQ), dont le chercheur principal est membre régulier, et a reçu un appui financier régulier du Conseil de la recherche en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), du Fonds sur la culture (FQRSC) et des Fonds Gérard-Dion et Cardinal-Maurice-Roy pour la tenue d’événements scientifiques et l’aide à la publication.

Actualités

Aucune nouvelle